Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is constantly debated whether trainees of different proffessions should be allowed to work outside their country of study. While concerns of various aspects exist, I personally contend that the choice of which country to work in is totally up to the students’ free will and that no barriers should exist.

On the one hand, skeptics of allowing professional students to work in any country hold the opinion that it would be a waste of time and money spent on cultivating the trainees to the professional level if they don’t stay and repay their school and country of study. This is definitely one essential factor that is creating doubts. It would also mean a loss of talent if they can’t retain them. Another concern is that confidential skills or data may be leaked to other countries. If one country excels in a particular field, for example, bone repair, when other countries’ students master the skills, the competitive edge of this country would be awakened.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks mentioned, there are plentiful ways to overcome them and many advantage of allowing students to work where they want exist. First of all, the trainees, such as medical students have already paid a large sum of tuition fees for their studies. So the institutions and the countries have already benefitted from teaching them. Therefore, it would not be fair if restriction on work were still placed. Besides, we are now in a more globalized world and economy. With the skills and expertise learnt from the developed countries, students would work to help developing areas. For example many students from the third world are admitted to Chinese universities every year in hope of receiving better education to construct their home countries. If few countries remain dominant in professional areas, the world would continue to be hugely imbalanced. Finally, finding ideal jobs is dependent on the students’ abilities. Encouraging them to find work not confined to where they were trained would also be advantageous for improving employment rates.

In conclusion, limiting the work of professional students to where they were taught should not be taken. Instead, we should encourage them to work in other countries.