Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers,

should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others

believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

A common debate is whether specialists trained domestically in vocations including medicine and engineering are obliged to take on employment in their homeland or should have the discretion to choose an overseas role. This essay will first elaborate on the merits of each assessment, before explaining why I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, in the opinion of advocates of professions there is a need to work where they are trained, there are also a number of reasons. The first is that higher education is often subsidized by taxpayers. The cost of educating students is very high, so if they don’t get government funding, only the rich can graduate, limiting opportunities for outstanding talent. Therefore, alumni have an obligation to give back to the society that has adopted them. Furthermore, these professionals may be more familiar with their country’s unwritten cultural norms, and thus can often achieve better results when communicating, interacting with citizens, or when meeting other people, remove others difficult situation.

On the other hand, like many others, I believe that professionals have an equal right to choose where they will work. Consider most importantly, they have spent years of their lives studying, neglecting relationships and mounting debt. That gives them the right to move abroad for a higher income or a better lifestyle, so it’s a worthy reward for that sacrifice. In addition, we can argue that all professionals can contribute to the economic growth of their country by earning a lot of foreign currency and sending it home, and at the same time they can also contribute to their country’s economic growth and glorify the country by participating in international discussions. It is these things that have made many people feel that studying and working abroad is very good.

In conclusion, I believe both sides have good reason. However, in my opinion, if a country provides all citizens with equal educational opportunities there is no reason to restrict anyone from freely making decisions about their workplace. Furthermore, I argue that professionals working abroad often make a significant contribution to their homeland through financial remittances. As a result, governments can focus on creating economic conditions that encourage in-demand professionals to seek employment locally.