Some people believe that school should teach foreign language for primary school children rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

knowing more languages improves memory, IQ and the level of general culture. there are people who think that for children is better to start learning a new, non-maternal language at primary schools, than in secondary ones. In my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, because the younger you are, the easier you learn, and that’s a fact. this essay will argue why is better to begin learning a foreign language since primary schools.

The main advantages are that children are like sponges, they absorb a big amount of information quicker than adults. According to some studies, learning a second language improves memory, analytical and problem solving skills. they also has shown that children who regularly use native language at home while growing up in another country have higher level of intelligence. For example, children who start to learn french from younger age, they already have an introduction in french cultures, they learnt about popular buildings, touristic attraction or traditional food. that means that maybe in future they will choose to travel or study in a french speaking country.this was my case and I really enjoyed being able to have the opportunity to study via Erasmus in France, and this was possible just because I know the language.

On the other hand, there are people who think that children have all life ahead to study and learn. Parents want their children to have more free time to enjoy their childhood, by playing with toys or spend it with their friends. because of that, they choose for their children to start learning foreign language in secondary school. Or, there are children who don’t like to study languages, they are more passionate about maths or chemistry, so you can’t obliged them to learn what they don’t want to. maybe when they will grown up, if they need, they will start to learn an other language than maternal one.

To conclude, I tent to agree with people who believe that it is better to start learning a foreign language in primary schools, there is no doubt that advantages of knowing more than one language outweigh the disadvantages.