Some people believe that sending criminals to prison is the best method of dealing with them while others say that education and job training are better ways to help them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">People have different views about how to deal with offenders. While some people argue that imprisonment is the most effective solution, I am of the opinion that criminals should be provided with education and vocational training.

On the one hand, sending lawbreakers to prison is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, the majority aim of imprisonment is to maintain the stability of society. One reason is that severe criminals, such as murderers or terrorists, pose a threat to the community. Therefore, imprisonment is a great way of keeping them away from society and prevent them from doing harm to innocent people. Secondly, putting offenders to prison can act as a warning for those who have an intention to violate the law. They have to know that they are likely to face-up with negative consequences likes: loss of freedom, social isolation, and separation from their loved ones if they carry out such a criminal act. As a result, it contributes to the creation of the law-abiding society.

On the other hand, I hold the belief that education and job training are the best methods. It is true that education and vocational training enable petty criminals to well-equipped with necessary skills so they can secure a stable job and earn a living. As a result, they are not likely to re-offend which leads to a decrease in the crime rate. Besides, these measures should be used to ease the financial burden of the jail system. The reason is that the authorities do not pay for the operation and maintenance of prison. Therefore, governments are able to invest national budget in other necessary aspects such as education, healthcare, infrastructure.

In conclusion, I think that the government should provide education and job training for criminals rather than send them to prison.</span><br>