Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a
successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after
school.
Discuss both views and give your opinion
When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a job or
continue their education. While there are some benefits to getting a job straight after
school, I would argue that it is better to go to college or university.
The option to start work straight after school is attractive for several reasons. Many
young people want to start earning money as soon as possible. In this way, they can
become independent, and they will be able to afford their own house or start a family.
In terms of their career, young people who decide to find work, rather than continue
their studies, may progress more quickly. They will have the chance to gain real
experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen profession. This may lead
to promotions and a successful career.
On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their
studies. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many professions. For
example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having the
relevant degree. As a result, university graduates have access to more and better job
opportunities, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those with fewer
qualifications. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and
sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young
people who do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to
compete.
For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be
successful in their careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.