Some people believe that teenagers should always follow the examples of older people and some believe it is natural in teenagers to challenge what old people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals hold the opinion that teenagers should follow the advice of their parents, whereas others assert that it is acceptable if children want their own voice heard and question what their elders say. In this essay I shall discuss both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view.

On the one hand, those who say that teenagers should follow the advice of their elders without questioning, give their reasons as follows. Firstly, they say that elders have a lot more experience than their teenage children. They have faced similar problems, so know what would be the right thing to do. Moreover, the elders know the temperament of their children and so can advice them very well in the crucial decisions of their life.

On the other hand, there are many reasons given by those who think that teens should not be forced to do what their elders say, and should have a right to challenge them. Firstly, the teens of today have more knowledge about their lives, needs and concerns, as they belong to a global village. They know what is happening even in the remotest corners of the planet Earth. They want to explore newer things and opportunities, and want to walk on the un-trodden path. But, the elderly force their decisions on them, which stifles their personality.

I believe that teens should be heard and their points given enough weightage. If parents think that their children are on the wrong path, then they should talk their children out of that, and not just force them to stop doing something. If parents learn to see the perspective of their teenage children and advise accordingly, they will get obedience and respect from their children. Otherwise, they may see their teens turn into rebels.

To sum up, teenagers should have the right to challenge what their elders say, and should not blindly follow their elders. At the same time, the elders too have to see that they treat their teenage children like friends and not force their ideas on them.