Some people believe that there are more advantages to learning foreign languages at primary school age than secondary school level.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

In some countries, foreign languages have been taught to the children in early age while the others do not approach new languages until secondary school. Nevertheless, learning formal languages in primary school can brings some enormous advantages.

Students who are at secondary school age have faster brain and firmer first language basic to study new languages more effectively than the smaller ages. Moreover, secondary students can learn some advance skills such as grammar rules and writing essays. However, they may get self-unconfident to speak or be afraid to make mistakes. In addition, as a consequence of exam pressure, the language becomes a “school subject” which forces students to study hard rather than a real language. Thus they may lose their passion on that language.

Contrary to them, primary students approach and learn foreign language very quickly. They confidently speak all the things they know and do not hesitate of making mistakes. Moreover, there is no time pressure or examinations to make their study to be compulsive. Notwithstanding, the younger children could forget a new language as easily as they learn it if they do not have opportunities to practice regularly. Children can also confuse the words that have similar pronunciations or the meaning for example. Therefore, they may reject to study the language they do not understand.

In conclusion, it is much better to start studying a foreign language at primary school age and continued improve the knowledge by practicing and higher study in high school age. It is likely to lead to successful communication in new language.