Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when declining on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Through all these years, having strict and fixed punishments for each type of crime, has been a debating issue between individuals. While some people have wanted to exert certain ones for every criminal, others have desired to consider the stimulation for committing it in order to reduce on the punishment. I myself have concurred with humans whom have believed the offenders’ conditions have to be taken into account.

On the one side of this issue, having fixed and certain punishments for each type of crime have had several benefits for societies. Firstly, they have regarded as a deterrent for committing a crime. Actually, being aware of the consequences of doing an illegal task for criminals has been an effective obstacle for them not to do it. As a result, if someone decides to commit a crime, they will consider their retribution in the first place. Secondly, it has propelled societies to be safer. This is also because of their obstacle effect on people to commit a crime. For example, countries like japan which has had fixed punishments since 1970, their crime rate has reduced over the decades so they have more secure society than others. And finally, applying these kinds of punishments could be beneficial for governments, too. Obviously, allocating certain kind of retribution for each type of crime has led authorities to decide immediately after a crime being committed. In fact, they do not have to waste much amount of time to decide what would be a perfect punishment for criminals while spending a great deal of money to preserve them in custody. Consequently, devoting fixed punishments for various kinds of crime have affected on not only criminals’ opinion to commit a crime, but also court’s decision to choose the reasonable ones for them.

On the other hand, although having fixed punishments have had several advantages for societies, they have adverse drawbacks, too. Actually, applying predetermined retribution for all criminals could be mentioned as an unfair task. And that is because the circumstance of how the crime have been committed has been an essential factor to decide the intensity of their punishments. For instance, applying similar kind of retribution for both a serial killer who has killed several innocent people without having no certain reason and a person who has murdered someone in self-defense could not be impartial. However, both of them have killed some people, because of the difference on their conditions to commit their crime, the court should allocate various retribution for them.

In conclusion, albeit having these fixed punishments have had several benefits for not only society but also the governments, there are some human-beings who are against it. This group of individuals, which I have agreed with, has always been aware of how horrible situations would lead people to do an illegal thing. Because of that reason, difference between them should not be overlooked.