Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A topical issue in modern society is passing punishments for criminals. It is often said that each type of crime should have certain punishments; however, others say that it depends on several factors. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide an overall opinion.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Firstly, people worry that offenders will repeat cruel activities. For example, murders must receive the death sentence because they made a big mistake to victims’ families. Secondly, it is a good method to raise people’s awareness. To elaborate, people educate their children avoid breaking the laws.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why others claim that it finds careful to decide on the punishment. First of all, the court must have important evidences to give a suitable sentence for criminals. To be specific, detective polices find out the reasons why people become offenders. Furthermore, criminals also need an opportunity to remake their lives. For instance, if murders have to die when they are still young, they will not have any chances to become a good citizen and their family will tremendously depressed.

In conclusion, deciding on the punishment for offenders is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. I am of the opinion that the government should care more to citizens’ lives in their own country by raising funds for education systems and encouraging people follow the laws. If there is a significant decrease in the development of crime, the society will become better and people will live in the safety environment.