Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

Nowadays, there are a controversial debate between people who support fixed punishments and who claims to flexible punishments. In my opinion, deciding one's punishment should depend on their situation and how significant the crime is.

The statement of fixed punishments had existed longtime ago. First, opponents of fixed punishments maintain that this method can help to reduce the difficulties when constructing and implementing laws. In fact, fixed punishments mean that there are not the need to build specific articles for each case of circumstances. As a result, we can save time and money for the law procedures. Secondly, instead of analyzing too much on situation where people do crime, we should educate the people how to follow the regulation of law. Japan, for example, is where people follow strictment law's regulation and government spend a great deal of budget to educate people. Consequently, since people's behavior is very good, the government do not to have complex punishments.

On the other hand, because the situation of each person when they do the crime are different between peoples, it is necessary to carefully analyse before decide any punishment. For example, in some situation a good person could hurt another to protect his interest or someone else, however in the view of law, this is a crime. In this case, it is totally different which an action of a person attracting people because of his bad attitude. Furthermore, the purpose of law is to educate people. Hence, strictment punishments should applied for crucial crime, whereas easy punishments should applied for other cases.

In conclusion, while fixed punishments could be applied in some cases, I am inclined to believe that flexible punishments should be taken into consideration depend on the situation. Governments need to study carefully following country's condition.