Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

People are divided into two main camps on the issue of punishing crimes. Some of them consider that each offender has different motives and all circumstances should be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. In this essay, I am going to consider both views and express personal opinion.

On one side of the argument there are people who believe that adopting fixed punishments will be more beneficial for society. The reason is that criminals will think twice before committing a crime. Also, there are some examples of successful experience about declining crime rate in countries like China, adopted strict laws. Moreover, plenty of time and resources could probably be saved and directed in much needed sectors of community such as education and medicine.

On the other hand, in many countries there may be strong factors influencing crime rates such as poverty. For this reason, it is crucial to consider all the circumstances surrounding an offender.