Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay any tax to the state To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is hard to deny that using taxes paid by citizens to build some high-tech projects such as satellites and space ships has little influence on our well-being promoting seemingly, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that personal taxes should be exempted by the government as paying taxes is a kind of deprivation of personal wealth and reduces the desire for consumption, which does harm to the social economy. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as equality, economy, and innovation are concerned, I strongly hold that we ought to pay a suitable amount of taxes.

First and foremost, paying personal income taxes can help people with disadvantaged backgrounds and improve their life qualities as well as narrow the gap of wealth between the rich and the poor. To be more specific, the additional revenue can be then provided as subsidies for the poor families so that they can make some improvement materially. Furthermore, the government can levy the income taxes according to the income level, meaning that the rich will be levied more taxes, this might be a good method to narrow the gap of wealth and promote social equality.

Furthermore, the fact that levying income taxes promotes social economy indicates that citizens who are benefited are supposed to pay some part of the money they earn as taxes. Take the case of China, which provides free nine-year compulsory education and medical insurance for Chinese people and income tax plays a significant role in it. As a result, the dropout rate in the countryside has dropped dramatically over the years and more children can finish basic education before they start their work. At the same time, people can see a doctor without paying a large amount of money that they cannot afford. Had it not been for the levying of income taxes, the Chinese would not have such a good education and medicine system and their life qualities would not be improved a lot.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that the government invests a lot of money in national defence and high-tech projects, which are far away from our lives, and some failure projects just result in a waste of money. Ironically, these projects are close with our lives, without which we would not enjoy the 5G phones, the G-series high-speed train, and other techniques that bring us with convenience. And without a solid national defence, we would not live peacefully in such a big country. Though some projects may fail and the investment is gone, it is just a small part compared to the achievements. Therefore, levying income taxes and investing high-tech projects promotes innovation and finally brings benefits to our society.

In a nutshell, I maintain that we should pay income taxes suitably, as this policy promotes equality and production of our society, and benefits the national economy and technical innovation.