Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think they should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that universities should have an emphasis on employment skills to prepare for the future while others think they have better to teach academic subjects only. Although focusing only on the academic study has several benefits, it is my belief that concentrating on teaching employment is more beneficial.

Admittedly, sustainable knowledge about certain fields could be regarded as the major benefit of teaching academic subjects. From an educational perspective, when principal give a higher status to intellectual teaching in school curriculum, learners’ imagination and creativity as well as concentration and logical thinking can be encouraged. Such an advantage can also mean that if educational institution offers more academic courses and intellectual subjects, their students can advance in terms of general knowledge and experience of the world when they reach adulthood. National economic university in Vietnam, for example, where a large number of students have a broad view of life and personal resources because of politics emphasizing academic fields.

However, in my point of view, concentrating on teaching employment skills can obviously bring more advantages due to relationships and job promotion when learners go in life. On a personal level, the focus instead on teaching and learning skills for employment could contribute to the fact that learners can advance in terms of social skills and expand relationships, which can lead to an improved quality of spiritual life. On the societal level, it is potential for educational authorities to incorporate working skills into school timetables, which means the young can be provided higher job opportunities and therefore a well-paid job, career progression, and an improved quality of material life.

In conclusion, it seems to me that focusing on employment skills in the university can bring greater benefits than academic subjects only. It is thus hoped that educational authorities can make an informed decision about changing the universities curriculum to emphasize the training for employment.