Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that both history and subjects relating to life play an important role in school curriculum. While studying history is essential, it is my belief that other subjects about social life are more crucial.

Admittedly, development of a sense of identity could be regarded as the major reason for the importance of studying history at schools. From an educational perspective, principals incorporating teaching of history into their school curriculum can make students comprehend historical events. Such an advantage could also mean that if educational authorities make an informed decision about emphasizing on history in school timetables, the young can appreciate their culture and foster a sense of national pride. In Vietnam, for example, there are plenty of historical exhibitions made by the young to express the culture, customs and history of their country of origin.

However, in my point of view, involving the teaching of subjects relevant to life can be obviously more essential due to their benefits which would bring to school-aged children when they go in life. On a personal level, with this kind of major becoming part of their learning, students can advance in terms of social skills, as a result, they would come out of their comfort zones to have better relationships, which could contribute to an improved quality of spiritual life. On the societal level, by putting more resources and giving higher status to the major relating to daily life, young individuals can definitely have a broader view of life and personal resources to draw on when they reach adulthood. If this were the case, they could be provided more job opportunities and career progression which lead to an improved quality of material life and therefore a thriving economy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that subjects which relevant to life can be more important than history in school curriculums. It is thus hoped that the educational authorities should emphasis teaching and studying of this kind of subjects at schools.