Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improvement of the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.

There is no doubt that community service is very beneficial to the society and high school programs should encourage students to take part in those services. But making it compulsory for the programme is not a very pragmatic idea. As a reason, high school students are busy with their studies and other activities. But it can be included in the programme by various modifications.

High school programmes are pretty advanced as it is, since it is a preparation time for students to go to colleges or to do jobs. It is a crucial time for them. Therefore, making unpaid community services can make their days quite stressful, which may have a negative effect to their main purpose. But high school programmes should nevertheless encourage them to take part in those activities, so they can be responsible members of their society.

It is a good idea to introduce community works as an optional in the high school programmes, so students can take part in it whenever they feel comfortable. This will also increase the output of their works towards the society. Another approach could be introducing those community works in the weekends and vacations, so students can both enjoy their leisure and grow up to be responsible to their society.

Making community works compulsory may also have negative effects to the job market. Many people depend on those works as a mean of their livelihood. If those works are performed by high school students, those people will be short on job, which will create an economic imbalance in the society.

Therefore, various factors have to be kept in mind before making unpaid community works compulsory for high school programmes, including the students themselves and the socio-economic balance of the society.