Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many experts and teachers claim that high school students have to do unpaid community service as an obligational subject in school, but others think that it should be optional. There are many arguments supporting both views, those for approval and those against make it to the debatable issue. In my point of view, I agree that unpaid community service should be an obligational subject in school.

In the one hand, unpaid community service is activites like labouring for charity, teaching for unfortunate pupils in remote areas,… which are all a voluntary work and do not get any payments. Firstly, labouring for voluntary work is much fit for high school students who do not have so much time but have much energy of ages, it can help students healthier, more sympathetic, more active and increase their communication skills such as: team-work skill, time management skill,… Secondly, doing for charity can help others who are unfortunate to access to the comfortable life to overcome their spiritual and material burdens. Finally, students who do unpaid community service can increase their hand-on experience bringing more chance to get a well-paid job in the future.

In the other hand, although doing unpaid community service can bring many advantanges, it is still backward. Firstly, high school students who do not have so much time now have to exploit their precious time to labour for charity, they can easily get bad marks at school because of it. Secondly, doing charity in remote areas which are always believed to be dangerous also has a risk of misery to have accident.

Overall, doing unpaid community service is good for high school student but government and organizations should take a great care of them to get rid of probable misery.