Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few years, many new ideas and beliefs arose aiming to improve society and reinforce the relationship between members of a society. One of the proposed ideas, yet under observation, is to make it compulsory for high school students to do some programmes, of course, charity ones, to assist their community.

Firstly, I am completely supporting the idea that: helping promote the society is one of the main duties of a righteous and positive member. Imagine that in the vacation, some youths, and even all ages, work for charitable organisations which help the poor, the sick, the learners and others. Imagine other group cleaning and decorating the streets- of course, that won't affect their dignity- or teaching the young. Indeed that will lead to an extremely modern, civilised and loving community. However, all these are examples, and there are many other ways to improve societies, both charitable and uncharitable methods. Despite this, the idea of compulsory charitable work doesn't sound good for me. I believe that making that compulsory, will not lead to the heroic purpose of the charitable work i.e. the inner desire to help others, but, instead, will make it a type of finishing your work.

I know that this proposed idea aims to teach high school students to be responsible to their society and to take care of others, but I think there is a more efficient method. There are now working groups in many schools in different places which do such charitable work and even without inspiration from the school's administration. So why not make many groups in all schools, and I think that will attract many students.

In conclusion, I think there are other better ways to promote the society without making it compulsory; the sitting compulsory subjects are enough