Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs for example working for the charity, improving the neighborhood, or teaching sports to younger children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, it is a fact that non-profit community service has become an integral part of human society all over the world. Although it is thought that attending unpaid social services has some detrimental effects on students' studying, they ought to be a mandatory module of the school curriculum for several reasons.

On the one hand, charitable activities cause harm to the school children. First, it is clear that participation in after-school activities increases a huger workload for students. Since they are already overstressed with academic work, social service requiring more time and energy may place an intolerable burden on their life. Furthermore, mandatory charitable activities can exert a detrimental influence on children's academic performances. If young people devote their after-school time to join extra-curricular activities, they will not have enough time for revising their lessons.

On the other hand, there are several obvious reasons that community welfare work should be obligatory in school programs. To begin with, it is worth considering that unpaid services help students develop vital life skills. Voluntary work, for example, provides students essential soft skills such as teamwork or communication, which will not only be an asset on their CV but also increase their future employability. Another positive point is that these non-profit activities help improve the life quality of local dwellers. For instance, by cleaning the streets, not only does the local air become fresh but the local view is also more beautiful.

By way of conclusion, it is essential that unpaid community service become a compulsory part of schools regarding its benefits to students and the local area.