Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems Some people say they should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is a fact that there is an increasing number of plastic bags used in shopping, which have a negative effect on the environment. In my opinion, plastic bags ought to be forbidden due to their harm to terrestrial and marine life.

First, it is undeniable that bags made of plastic cause a myriad of damage to humans and plants on the ground. One of the reasons is that plastic item mainly made from polythene have to take a long time to decompose, reating long-term consequences of human life. In other words, if garbage including plastics cannot be handled, it will form gigantic landfills, which is conducive for the harmful bacteria to proliferate. Moreover, throwing rubbish haphazardly can make discarded plastics mix into the soil. As a result, not only do trees have less nutrition for development but people and animals also be poisonous by eating food containing toxic.

Second, plastic bags for shopping have a detrimental impact on the water environment. To begin with, Discarded plastic items sinking into the ocean pose a threat to aquatic creatures as they mistake plastics for food. Turtles, for instance, are the unfortunate victim of plastics annually as they suffer from entanglement and ingestion of plastic debris. In addition, plastic waste floating around ponds and rivers can cause clogged sewers. This causes not only water contamination but also unpleasant odors, which do harm to living creatures.

In conclusion, shopping bags made of plastic must be banned because of their discernible effect on the environment regarding terrestrial and undersea life.