Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

People argue about the must-do free social service by high school students, such as joining with charity, taking part in social work and teaching young children as it is a part of the school curriculum. Some people say it is a must, while some others say; this should be only voluntary. I agree with the later statement.

Making charitable activities compulsory subject causes more harm than benefit to the school children. Because many of them are already compromised and overstressed with their academic work. In addition to these, adding social service which needs more time and energy indefinitely overburden student's life. Nowadays pupil hardly finds time to even engage in sports other recreational activities which are helpful to relax their mind and body. Therefore, many of them are depressed. A recent survey in the US pointed out that lack of free time and academic stress is the leading cause of depression in high school youth.

On the other hand, social activity should be a voluntary one; whoever wishes, and has enough time and energy should be allowed to do so. Social activities give happiness and satisfaction to the mind only when they are done with heart . Forced to do activities ruin the purpose of this kind of exercise and take away the task satisfaction. If students are asked to do compulsory charitable endeavour they will do it without any involvement, just for the sake of doing it. This will make them unhappy and ultimately turn them to develop negative thoughts about social service. For example, we can recall our memories when we were asked to do "siramadana" at school how much we have hated it.

In conclusion, the charitable task should be done only voluntarily then the only pupil can understand the principles of this work and enjoy, otherwise the purpose is lost and it causes more harm than benefit to high school children.