Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that high school students should be forced to take part in voluntary activities as a part of their learning process. However, I disagree with this notion due to its adverse bearing on many aspects.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why becoming volunteers is an essential part of adolescence. Firstly, involving in unpaid community activities is a great chance for the learners to pay back for their community. This is because many our welfare is provided free these days by the government, especially study’s fee, hence, they obviously need to contribute back to the society. Secondly, compulsory community service provides numerous opportunities for them to cultivate their life skills. For instance, enrolling in a charity work to help children with special needs can help high school students how to deal with the difficult situations more effectively and develop their communication ability.

Nevertheless, forcing these students to attend in free service for the society may take a toll on various fields. The main reason is that the adolescence needs to concentrate on their core subjects to meet the deadline on time. Consequently, their academic will be deteriorated, especially for ones who have bad time-management skill. Furthermore, not all high school learners have a tendency to enjoy working for the society if their head teacher add this not as an optional part. They just want to complete their tasks as soon as possible and do not focus on their works, leading to many serious consequences.

In conclusion, while some maintain that high school learners must enroll in voluntary tasks, I firmly believe that they should not be forced to do free works for the community.