Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work brings numerous benefits to both the community and volunteers when it comes to improving soft skills for students hence some people think whether charitable activities should be included in the compulsory curriculum at high schools. In my opinion, I do not agree with the idea that students should be required to participate in community activities.

Firstly, students are swapped with class schedules and subject pressure thus when they have free time, they should relax or rest with family and friends. Pressure comes from teachers and parents asking students to complete assignments and study to get good results on exams, consequently, students do not have to bear the added pressure of having to be responsible for helping the community. Furthermore, volunteer work takes a long time to plan and execute, leading to distracting learning. On the other hand, volunteering but forced work will become a responsibility that affects students' working attitudes. In fact, forcing someone to do something against their will only infuriates young people and leads to negative attitudes. Then neither the volunteer nor the recipient feels comfortable. Currently, no one is forced to volunteer and this is certainly for the best.

However, education should not only stop at imparting knowledge but also teach students fundamental skills. Through volunteer activities, students can practice skills such as teamwork skills, planning skills, work discipline, and at the same time develop their personalities. In addition, prestigious universities and non-profit corporations always appreciate students who have participated in community helping activities. This will be an advantage for the student's career. Nevertheless, students should be more focused on education and should not be forced to do something that might detract them from their main target and task.

In summary, teenagers can choose to work for free and help others instead of forcing them to do this