Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for examples working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that volunteer community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes, some examples are working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children. This essay completely agrees with this statement because the benefits to students are noteworthy. This essay will have a look on what skills are developed by volunteering at community service and continue to talk about how these so-called soft skills are valuable for finding a job or getting in the college of the student choice.

Education does not only pursuits to storage knowledge at the pupils’ head but to make a human being suitable for working and living in the community. By volunteering soft skills as emotional management, empathy or resilience are improved. Those skills made yourself a suitable person o work with and to study with. Because no matter how good you are in a field if you are unable to cooperate and accomplish a task in a team you will be dysfunctional.

Based on my experience, being president of a charity club, made me realize how valuable this experience is for the employers. Every time I had an interview I got asked about my role in the club and what lessons have I learnt from it. However, is not only in the industry where this experience is considered. If you want to get access to a renowned college it would be taken into account too.

In conclusion, teenagers in high school should be concerned about their communities. Seeing unpaid work is not exclusively a heart-warming activity, on the contrary, it’s one key activity to learn and develop themselves.