Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports for younger children).

While, for high school students, learning in class from teachers and acquiring knowledge from textbooks can be the most critical tasks, it is quite beneficial for them to participate in unpaid community service.

To begin with, volunteering in community provides teenagers with precious opportunities to communicate with others besides classmates and teachers in school and enables them to learn to cooperate in teams. When working for a charity, students will interact with people in poverty in the countryside and foster habits of helping others in need. Also, the activities organized by charity can not be achieved by only one person, and thus teamwork is extremely essential. The ability to make plans and contacting the local government require proficient and effective talking skills. Therefore, considering those advantages mentioned above, high school programmes should make community service a compulsory part.

Besides, admittedly community service may take up a great deal of time which is supposed to spend on studying. Some people contend that the only goal for high school students is to concentrate on subjects and examinations and the service deprives them of much time. Nevertheless, those service in the volunteer work can relax students and contribute to high efficiency in studying. Students need those activities to relieve pressure, inspire them about the beauty of the world, and offer them confidence when depressed. During teaching sports for younger children, they can be real teachers and impart knowledge, which can significantly enlighten them and result in more confidence.

All in all, although unpaid community service requires time and energy, not only can students learn to work cooperate with other people, they can also gain confidence.