Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that in recent years, the tourism industry witnessed the significant development and the worldwide expansion. While some people say that foreign travellers should comply with domestic practices and attitudes, I would argue that the cultural discrepancy should be respectful.

On the one hand, when tourists visit any interesting places, they are advised to abide by culture and customs of the regions where they travel. The first reason for this is that the visitors can become tactless and be opposed by the local inhabitants. For instance, there is the dress code to visit some attractions, such as temples, mosques and some other places of worship in many countries. Take Malaysia as an example, when visitors visit some Muslim mosques, the women are required to wear hijab to visit place of worship. Besides that, due to some religious regulations, some kinds of food and dishes may be restricted in some nations, the visitors should search these types of information to have a good preparation for their trips.

On the other hand, the culture of foreign tourists from various nations should be respected by the domestic people. It is due to own regulations and controls of some religions. For example, the Christians must do a sign of the cross before eating, it is so strange for the inhabitants in some other countries and areas, however, it is their customs and should be appreciated by the locals. The next reason is that the cultural integration plays a crucial part of globalization, so the residents should welcome and accept the culture differences. The adaption of these discrepancy enables the local residents to be well-prepared about the food, the places of worship, types of entertainment and so on to serve the global visitors.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the cultủal differences between the foreign visitors and the local residents, but I believe that the integration of culture is essential to develop the tourism industry worldwide.