Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the function of building is the key aspect that homeowners should take into account when they design a dwelling place rather than the outside look. I personally agree with this view for some reasons that I will elaborate in this essay.

On the one hand, the tendency of choosing the aesthetically pleasing appearance is that it reflects the social status to show off the individual’s wealth and achievement. Seemingly, this may evoke the wider socioeconomic disparity in outdoor building performances which can influence the trend of modern architectural design without considering its functions. Furthermore, the different impressions between the aesthetic residence together with conventional homes style consist in the higher materials budgets and taxes which are imposed on them. For instance, the housing developers set out to create residential areas with a European classic design since they may attract more community’s attention, despite involving surplus construction costs and maintenance processes.

On the other hand, it seems to me that a well-designed functional building should be constructed by prioritising the purposes and needs of the occupant. In the modern era, a great number of people are getting involved in eco-friendly homes which take advantage of space savings. Sweden, particularly, converts old property to high efficiency that homeowners may design self-sufficient in their own energies. Furthermore, selecting materials can be considered as a factor of building resilience to minimise repair costs of both seasonal changes and disaster forecasts. It appears in earthquake zones, Japan, the construction is determined by three major designs, concerning rubber layer and seismic isolator.

In summary, it seems to me that functional designs are more important to consider for societies due to positive impacts that the utilization fits into their demand and can have a resilient residential construction. This is as long as the artistic style of building remains in the balanced expense prices.