Some people believe that nowadays too much money is being spent on weddings and birthdays. Why do you think it is happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

Some people argue that weddings and birthdays are overspending in recent days. In my standpoint, some detrimental causes can be enlisted from this premise along with the plausible solutions which I will elaborate in the ensuing paragraph.

On the one side, wedding celebrations not only show sacred ceremonials but also crave public recognition. Along with numerous prominent people invited, the couple prefer providing luxurious designs and fancy catering to earn a great reputation. For instance, Ria Ricis, an Indonesian youtube influencer, glorifies her marriage – binding contract with dozens of sponsors to achieve glamorous celebration. Furthermore, this behaviour impels one to spend as much as the money is due to materialistic tendencies. Regarding the recent birthday trend, the teenagers fear of missing out (FOMO), attracting them to create the similar concept. This phenomenon has also been linked to shape both consumerist attitudes and depression.

In regard to this issue, people are advised to lower their ego and hold a nuptial ceremony appropriately, preferring to allocate the budget for upcoming marriage life. The less the wedding expense is spent in the one-day event, the more chance the couple may have a stable financial management to fulfil their daily needs. Moreover, individuals can learn not to live beyond their means so called modest lifestyle. Apparently, the intimacy of the celebration builds strong relationship bonds and special memories with loved ones lasting forever. Psychology research revealed that the birthday gathering of ambitious people with their relatives could emphasise material possession rather than cherishing relationships.

To sum up, the factors of the over expenditure on marriage and birthday occasions nowadays are desired public recognition and being consumer-oriented societies. Meanwhile, the alternatives of this bring substantial points, such as limiting event cost and living a modest lifestyle.