Some people believe women make better leaders than men in companies or government.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Women are believed to be better than men at being leaders in companies or governments. This statement is entirely not true as effective leadership is governed not by gender but other factors that primarily comprise of leading skills and experience.

There are numerous examples of competent leaders across the world of both genders to give credence the fact the gender differences in leading positions have little connection with the leading ability. To illustrate, the prime example of a visionary and capable female leader is Ms. Merkel, the German chancellor who was able to sustain and foster the economic growth of Germany throughout her term in the office, and the same was also evident with the president Obama of United State who admirably succeeded in helping the US economy recover from the economic crisis.

Furthermore, it is well documented that the majority of successful leaders share certain common qualities, such as decisiveness, determination, high-order cognitive skills, as well as experience and none of these characteristics pertain to the gender element. As a result, were a female who is responsible for leading an organization to a goal unable to demonstrate sufficient experience in handling unforeseeable situations or lacked leading skills, failures would likely be inevitable for that group. For this reason, it is safe to conclude both men and women have an equal chance of becoming a great leader although in certain cases, each gender has a slight advantage over the other. For example, female managers are more empathetic to their workers, thus being more adept at motiving employees than their male counterparts, whereas males are somewhat better at producing rational decisions.

in conclusion, it is readily apparent that gender has little influence over the ability to lead a group successfully, and in fact strong leadership requires a person to possess other vital traits and accumulate a wealth of experience to handle unexpected hardships.