Some people believe world poverty can be solved by the governments of rich countries giving large amounts of money to the governments of poor countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly said that offering financial aid to help underdeveloped regions recover from poverty is the responsibility of well-off nations’ governments. Personally, there is little to agree with this school of thought given that there is a more effective way to support poverty-stricken countries instead of giving funding.

Admittedly, one might argue that the dispensed subsidies would contribute to helping nations to handle the status of poverty. However, statistics exclaim otherwise. As is reported, a large portion of the foreign aid eventually becomes the possession of those in authority and has counterproductive incentives in the recipient regions, which means the rich world may corrupt these countries’ officials and slow their growth. This is evidenced that more than $130 billion from advanced countries having contributed to official aid in 2014 may not have been in the right place for those in need.

Moreover, there is a better way to alleviate poverty in the third world. The efficacy of indirect assistance could be as vital as material one. Governments from industrialized countries can import a range of merchandise manufactured by some of the poorest nations, which seems conducive to encouraging their economy or industry to thrive, as well as improve personal income. Consequently, economic crises must be diminished, which partially contributes to these developing nations putting more focus on social development, especially leading to the end of poverty.

In conclusion, the act of supporting financially of more economically developed regions may arouse corruption among underdeveloped countries’ governments as well as it is not a durable approach to help the poorer ones. Therefore, in my conviction indirect and frequent helping could be a more practicable procedure.