some people believe that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in a country. To what extent do you agree

Learning a new language has many cognitive advantages. Some people are of the opinion that the language proficiency is achieved only by staying or working in a country where that language is used for communication. I completely agree that

fluency in any language is obtained only if we have an environment of people speaking in the same language around us.

To begin with, People can learn a language fast when they read, write, listen and speak in that language. When working or living in a country where this language is excessively used paves a way for learning it quickly. Furthermore, by listening to the native speakers', people can understand the accent and usage of words. Experiences help in correcting our mistakes and learn language effortlessly. For example, one of my friends Rahul, have been learning German from past 1 year but as he lives in India he doesn't necessarily have to communicate every time in German as many people speak local languages. This made him difficult to learn German as he did not have the right platform to implement what is being taught.

Next, Language is not always the rules and grammar defined in textbooks. It is certainly something which needs to be learned through talking. The more we used it in our daily life the better the scope of becoming fluent. Exams and language courses help in understanding the gist but do not give a practical understanding of the usage.

In conclusion, the rules and lessons learned from a language class only help to some extent, but in order to achieve fluency and command over the language, it is necessary to work or live in a country.