Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to punish young criminals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that teenage offenders should be treated differently as adults, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that penalising teenage criminals as harshly as adults is necessary do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the youth have to learn that not only does illegal behaviour have harmful consequences, but also it will not be tolerated. Furthermore, punishing juvenile delinquents severely could act as a deterrent, meaning that if youngsters witnessed their peers who commit offences receive severe penalties, such as life imprisonment and the death penalty, they would be less likely to break the law.

My opinion, however, is that inflicting the same punishment on adolescents who perpetrate crimes as adult offenders should be forbidden. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that obliging them to take the same responsibility as adults is unfair considering that the majority of minors have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong. In addition, if the authorities deprive them of a chance to change and become law-abiding citizens, they may enter into a life of crime, exerting a detrimental influence on our society. Thus, other methods of punishment, including vocational training and community service is needed in order to help young offences reintegrate back into society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that harsh punishment should not be imposed on young perpetrators of offences for the reasons discussed above.