Some people belive that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but the quality of work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, workplace matters have never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although the importance of dress code and appearance at work has been recognized and accepted, some people still argue that dressing is far less essential compared to work outcome. From my perspective, these are both matters of concern to employers and the performance of staff should be prioritized.

On the one hand, a dress code promotes a serious working atmosphere as well as contributes significantly to the improvement of professionalism in organizations. In contrast, inappropriate clothing can result in numerous negative consequences. For example, if an employees attend a meeting in informal clothes such as T-shirts and jeans, his collaborative partners may have a bad impression that he is unprofessional and disrespectful to them. As a result, they probably will reconsider the co-operation and the company may lose the contract. Another point to mention is that imposing a mandatory dress code in workplace can help avoid several troubles. Female workers, for instance, can be victims of sexual harassment and even abuse if they are not conscious about what they put on. With dress codes, these problems can be prevented or at least mitigated. This directly suggests that by putting some limitations on dressing up, workers will be less distracted from their main tasks, thereby enhancing work productivity.

On the other hand, it is crucial to lay more emphasis on work performance of employees. The reason is crystal- clear: work outcome is the main factor that drive the company’s thriving success. If the employer cares too much about the appearance and does not attach enough importance to the work results, his employees may be lazy and neglect their main tasks and when the quality of work decrease, the profits will also decline and setbacks may ensue. Moreover, working in an environment where work performance is prioritized, workers can find great enthusiasm to bring out the best of themselves to devote to the company. What can be inferred from this is that by emphasizing the importance of work performance, the employer can keep his subordinates on track, thus ensuring the smoothness and effectiveness of work.

To conclude, being an employer means that there are numerous matters need to be considered. While the work outcome is significantly essential, the superior also need to concern about how his employees dress and imposing an appropriate dress code may be the best solution to avoid related-problems.