Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

How far do you agree?

What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

There has been a prevailing opinion that some specific types of work like doctors and teachers are underestimated and underpaid. At the same time, celebrities and company presidents earn a disagreeably tremendous amount of money. This essay will indicate the factors affecting each occupation’s salary and state my perspective on this statement.

As for the importance of education and healthcare, I genuinely agree with the given viewpoint. Health and knowledge are required in almost every aspect of life, from taking care of families to pursuing careers. To be more precise, teachers provide knowledge and training as the key to shaping the future workforce; therefore, educators can be considered the decisive factor of the growth of a nation. Medical practitioners are also of significance on account of saving peoples’ lives, which is invaluable. By contrast, actors, via their films, would only give temporary entertainment, and bosses do not even have a direct impact on people’s lives. Thus I hold a strong belief that nurses, doctors, and teachers, who do the most indispensable jobs on a daily basis and are the backbone of our society, should be required to get lucrative income.

There are, henceforth, a range of feasible criteria to evaluate one’s earning. Initially, every salary should be based on the impact which their jobs make on society. Should their work be beneficial to a huge community and help them upgrade the standard of living, their income shall be high in return. Besides, the demand of the occupation is another important criterion. The higher and more complex to meet the requirements of the job, the more wages should be paid. For example, doctors, which require a long time of difficult learning and practicing, should be given more salary.

In conclusion, I truly agree that doctors and teachers should be paid more and the impact on the community and the difficulty of the job should be regarded as the crucial factors to evaluate one’s earning.