Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Infrastructure industry has captivated everyone's attention in recent years, as there is an ongoing debate among the authorities and the government officials regarding the freedom for designing the newly constructed buildings. While a section of people think that it should in in favor of the government, the rest support the builders who actually invest for the construction. This essay will discuss both the sides and explain why my thoughts go along with the latter.

To begin with, those who believe that the decision of designing should be possessed by government may argue that it helps the government to develop buildings in symmetrical fashion. As a result, city will look like a planned one and may seem more picturesque to the tourists. Also, it will create cultural impression in the world. For example, in Dubai, majority of buildings are constructed in an identical manner that represent Arabic architecture and capture billions of tourists every year.

In contrast, the investors feel that the design should be in alignment of its purpose rather than other buildings in its neighborhood. If they would not be given the freedom of designing the exterior according to their choice, then it may create monologue architecture all across the city, and the architects will not get a chance to showcase their talent. Eventually, such cities would fail to intrigue tourists as well the residents to visit different places. For instance, in a recently conducted survey, approximately 98% of people prefer to see differently designed buildings in the city. They claim that the exterior capture their attention and encourage them to visit it.

In conclusion, I assert that the freedom of designing the buildings should be kept with the financial sponsors rather than the government, as they have more rational reasons to support their view.