Some people feel that entertainers( eg film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Which other types of job should be highly paid?

For the past ten years, there has been significant amount of argument on the issue of how much professionals should be paid for the services they render. There has also been the talk that entertainers such as movie stars, pop artists and footballers are being overpaid.There are several reasons why I believe that this notion is false. Infact there are many other professionals that should be also well paid.

One of the main reasons why they should earn higher than other sectors is that they render professional services. This can be explained by the fact that their work involves a lot of skill, finesse and creativity than any other field. An example of this can be seen in the case of pop artists. They spend years and months writing and composing music as well as creating tunes that best fit. The movie star has to spend time in the theater just to have the right cast in which his mannerisms and emotions best convey the opinion in the script. Secondly, they are celebrities. As people have high expectations of celebrities and consider them more important than other members of the society, it is then not too much if their pay is high. To illustrate this, the public believe they should own the best cars and live in the most luxurious homes.

Entertainers are not the only ones who are entitled to good pay. There are other professionals like doctors, teachers and oil miners whose benefits should be enticing. This is is due to the fact that these people are exposed to a lot of hazard in the process of carrying out their jobs. An example is a doctor who is at risk of contacting infectious disease when exposed to sick patients or pricked by a needle during surgeries. Oil miners are exposed to adverse conditions of weather in the open sea while mining for oil.The implication is that their work involves much more sacrifice than the public could ever perceive.

In conclusion certain artists and skilled workers could never be said to be paid too much as their work involves much more professionalalism and hazard.In future I hope the government would invest more money into such sectors in order to address their challenges and better their welfare.