Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A significant proportion of individuals in the society are of the opinion that the primary aim of learning a foreign dialect is for the purpose of travelling or working abroad, while others claim that there are other scenarios that might prompt one to learn a new language. However despite cogent the reasons from both schools of thought, I am of the belief that the most crucial stimulation for acquiring proficiency in a second tongue is to facilitate work and travel overseas.

To begin, proponents of a foreign language serving other valuable purpose apart from streamlining work and travel in an alien country base their stand on certain points. Individuals in the society learn a novel dialect for academic reasons. Scholars usually enroll into a linguistic class, not for purposes of communication but probably because the curriculum of the course study mandates them to do so. As an illustration, pupils in elementary school in my country Nigeria are often obligated to be tutored in French because the scheme compels student to do so. In addition, a competency in a new lingua franca would enable one understand scientific and religious text. Decades ago, scientific journals and texts were documented in Latin. For a potential scientist to understand such literatures, he has to have a basic knowledge of Latin. Also the Catholic denomination has a penchant for using Latin for its religious worship. As a result, priesthood mandates a Latin proficiency.

However, I would argue that the main aim of acquiring a new linguistic skill is for a job or livelihood when one travels to a strange land. Firstly, to be able to adapt to the social life and culture of an entirely alien environment, communication in the preceding dialect is a necessity. Foreigners usually make fast friends with visitors and tourists that could converse freely with them as language has a potential for uniting people. As an example to facilitate adaptation to life overseas, governments and travel agents obligates travellers to have a basic understanding of the the language. Bodies like IELTS conduct exams for migrants to a new nation. Secondly, employers of labour favour employees that have a good grasp of language in order to facilitate communication between staffs and clients. A customer patronising a shop or manufacturing company would grumble if he could not be adequately understood.

In conclusion, though certain groups in the society opine that a foreign language could serve other needs outside travelling or working overseas, I am of the opinion that adapting to employment or migrating is the main reason for learning a second language.