Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals claim that celebrities who work in movies, music industry, or sports are overpaid. Personally, I agree with this opinion because there are many majors that are crucial for the development of every nation such as educational and healthcare services, and employees in these sectors should be paid properly.

It is true that nowadays, movie stars, famous singers and sport players are extremely highly paid although their works are just for entertaining and advertising purposes. With the high income, celebrities have chance for a luxury life, enjoy best services and high quality commodity. In contrast, other professions such as teachers and doctors who work really hard to create values for society have low income and they usually find it is difficult to obtain a good living standard for their families with a limited financial resources. For example, many teachers working in remote areas in Viet Nam receive just around five million VND per month and this salary is not appropriate with their sacrifices for children in these areas in particular, and national education overall.

Another work that should be highly paid is medical staffs who are passionate in saving people’ lives despite the fact that they have low salaries and work in infectious environment. Doctors in Vietnam can be taken as an example for the disadvantages of their careers. A five-year experience doctor is paid around seven million VND every month and because they have to spend most of their time in hospitals, his wife usually stay at home for taking care of children and doing housework. As a result, this low income can not afford their livelihood. Furthermore, surgeons received just forty thousand VND for a four-hour surgery even though they have to face with high risks of dangerous infectious diseases such as HIV, hepatitis from patients. There is no doubt that better incomes that contribute to ensure their families’ needs will make them happy and completely concentrate when working.

In conclusion, I agree with the view that movie stars and other famous people in music and sports are paid too much money, and higher salaries should be promoted to encourage other professions that are vital for life, including educational and healthcare employees.