Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held view that adverts appear to be either irritating or amusing to viewers, and that such things would not affect people's choices when purchasing. From my perspective, I disagree with this point, due to several reasons presented in this essay below.

It is understandable why some complain about advertisement and claim that they are not influenced by these. One of the reasons is that when watching a film or video, both on TV or various Internet platforms, adverts suddenly pop up on the screens, which is the major drive to watchers' annoyance. This is because this would interrupt their moods, and such a tendency would result in them hurriedly skipping the content being marketed to continue the videos. Another explanation is that in this day and age, we are bombarded with tons of advertisements, which is challenging for one to particularly pay attention to a single brand, and thereby could not lure them into buying advertised goods when shopping.

Nonetheless, believe that these marketing activities would offer benefits for buyers and hence exert certain impacts upon them. Regarding the former, higher quality of life means that the demand for consumption has been experiencing an unprecedented surge, giving rise to people constantly purchasing new items to upgrade their living standards. If there are few adverts available, it would be challenging for many to find out the most suitable products for them. As for the latter, though advertising would not immediately tempt buyers to allocate their budget to that product, the brand name gradually creeps into our minds as the adverts are repeatedly shown on our phones or TVs. Such a trend, as a result, would urge people to buy items of the brand they remember when shopping.

In conclusion, although adverts at times trigger negative emotions among viewers, they are major contributors to people managing to possess what products they crave for. For the aforementioned reasons, I contend that they would exert great influence upon people’s shopping behaviors.