Some people prefer shopping in shopping centers while others prefer local markets. What are the advantages of each? Which shopping experience do you prefer?

It has been recently stated that although shopping malls have become popular with consumers, some of them still go to local markets. On one hand, convenience is one of the attractive features of shopping centers. On the other hand, local markets have distinctive characteristics that cannot be found elsewhere.

In terms of the shopping experience, one argument in support of shopping centers is feasibility. We must admit that not only does everything stay under the same roof, but the products are also categorized into aisles, which helps customers find what they are looking for. For instance, there are various large signs indicating whether foods or appliances or clothing is being sold in that area. Moreover, compared to markets, because malls close at a later time in the evening, time is not a limiting factor and consumers can do their grocery shopping during the day as well as the night. If buyers prefer payment methods other than cash, shopping centers and supermarkets also accept credit cards and digital wallets.

Nonetheless, local markets offer several positive aspects that make not a few people shop there. It cannot be denied that since markets only operate until early afternoon, all of the foodstuffs and vegetables come directly from the farms. As a result, unlike food that is frozen as supermarkets, the ones here are fresh and might be a preference of consumers. Besides, the average price of market goods is always less expensive due to the fact that there is less regulation by the government. Another plus point for budgets is the possibility to negotiate the cost, allowing maximal saving.

In conclusion, both shopping centers and local markets provide their own benefits and give shoppers more options. From a personal perspective, despite the freshness of market produce, I am attracted to the open large space that is air-conditioned in malls, especially in such a hot tropical country like Vietnam.