Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In recent years, the popularity of video games is becoming increasingly popular. Some people regard them as harmless and even educational in some perspectives. Others, on the contrary, object to that idea. From my viewpoint, video games are beneficial; however, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

It can be seen that playing video games brings numerous positive effects and improve the crucial skills of users. Taking football video games as an example. It’s commonly acknowledged that football is a team sport. However, when playing it through a screen, players not only learn how to collaborate but also have an opportunity to practice critical skills as they have to come up with compatible formations for each specific opponent. Furthermore, any type of sports involves some elements of risk, playing through computers can reduce the possibility of being injured.

Despite the fact that they are beneficial to some extent, the drawbacks of video games still exceed the benefits they bring to. Firstly, spending too much time playing video games can potentially lead to a sedentary lifestyle which detrimentally impacts players’ physical and mental health in the long term. Furthermore, education records might also be affected dramatically when the users overcome challenges or winning over their friends in digital games as the primary priority. In some circumstances, gaming addiction can lead to tragic consequences. It is widely known that one Asian gamer passed away because of playing an online game 48 hours consecutively. Additionally, playing digital games can be extremely expensive. Gaming companies use multiple strategies that attract players to spend money for new missions or upgrading abilities. They have been blamed for their tricks but the government still cannot do anything to stop it.

In conclusion, video games may contain several good sides for the players, the drawbacks still surpass the advantages. Parents must be aware of the downsides of playing video games and have solutions to prevent their children from being addicted to these activities.