some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. in your opinion, do the drawbacks outweigh the benefits?

These days, video games come in a myriad of forms, and have always induced conflicting opinions and perceptions. Given the high prevalence of gaming, it is necessary to discuss how the merits are eclipsed by the associated risk factors.

On one end of the spectrum, video games are forms of entertainment that brings more benefits to modern society and it is possible to enhance specific cerebral functions for teenagers and adults. moreover, it can help develop detailed orientation and logical thinking process, since most knowledge in games are linked to factual truth and theories in various fields, such as history, economic, theoretical physics and so on. This, thus, greatly broaden their horizon and make learning a subconscious and absorbing process. Besides, not only the advantage of video games are of the essence for adolescents and grownups but several studies have also proclaimed that senior citizens who utilize it as a healthy exercise are also able to maintain their youth and sharpen their mind.

On the other end of the spectrum, other people including myself believe that the advantages are just the tip of the iceberg and it is outweighed by the disadvantages. for instance, video games could raise the risk of myopia from the indoor lower light intensity, as it is a sedentary activity, which limits the amount of real-world social interactions, delaying or atrophying those skills.more and more reports on how video games blurred the lines between reality and fantasy have been conducted on a large-scale. Specifically, with subjects of excessive usage, which could have detrimental repercussion rate as other forms of addiction. Furthermore, young children are particularly prone to be be susceptible to violent video games, which is the main cause of aggression and hostile behaviors accumulating over time. It is of vital importance to acknowledge and limits the negative aspects of video games since young children are exposed to all the time.

In conclusion, i am of the opinion that video games have detrimental impacts on diverse aspects, despite the positive vantage-ground. Thus, i believe it would be crucial for video games, in general, to be under explicit regulation and control.