Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is believed by some that some advertisement encourages to buy unnecessary things, while others state that advertising might help people find new products that better lives. This essay will discuss my point of view and the reasons behind it.

Firstly, I believe that a good amount of things we buy, we choose them because advertisements influence us. Everywhere we turn, there are advertising boards, tv commercials and magazines full of announces that makes us believe that we need to have those things, but most of the time it's not really the case. For example, I often see tv commercials about spectacular washing machine detergents that will renew our clothes or marvellous shampoos that will make our hair shine like never before: ultimately, those products will not make our lives better, but will definitely make our wallets lighter.

In my opinion, though, the statement that affirms that some ads make us discovers particular new products what can help our everyday life is, indeed, true. Just a couple of weeks ago I saw a commercial about a new blow dryer made specifically for curly hair - that made me very curious, as I was looking for something like that. Needless to say, I bought that new blow dryer and my life was turned upside down ever since. this argument works for a number of different objects and articles advertised every day because a good ad is the one that does not mesmerize you but makes you curious for the product.

To sum up, I consider both opinions to be true. Sometimes we do end up buying things we do not need because we were influenced, but I also believe that through commercials new life-changing products can be discovered. Advertisements are a very powerful instrument but it needs to be used with care.