People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

Safety has become a serious problem nowadays, with people feeling secure neither at home or outside in the cities. this essay will discuss the possible causes of this phenomenon and suggest a viable solution.

The principal problem with feeling of unsafe is to be found in the rising rates of criminality and delinquency, for the most part in bigger cities. Today, it is becoming very easy to perform any kind of robbery, from physical assault or breaking and entering to electronic fraud and identity theft. The result to this is people not feeling safe in any place and not trusting anyone, sometimes even becoming overprotective and impolite. One example could be door-to-door vendors, who encounter an important number of rude people during their working days because most of the time they are mistaken for possible burglars and get kicked out.

A solution to this worrying problem could be government authorities increasing the years of penalty for lawbreakers and implementing their patrolling schemes. This way, those who engage in robbery and theft might start to get arrested for long periods of time. Another example of a solution can be more surveillance cameras being installed around cities and residential areas, on train and buses and other public transport systems in order to be able to catch more thieves.

In summary, the fear of being victims of assaults or robberies has its reasons, and this can be allayed by putting more effort into the fight against crime by the Government Authorities. it is proven that the more efficient laws are applied, the lower the criminality rate will be.