Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that use of adverts would benefit economy, while other believe that it would cause dissatisfaction among people.

On the one hand, advertisement offers a wide range of merits to economy. First, It facilitates trades and stimulates consumption economy. This is because consumers have a tendency to buy products and services which are familiar to them. As advertisement is a useful instrument to promote brand images, it is therefore often utilized to bridge the buyers to manufacturers. More importantly, given advertisement sector is integral part of an economy, it creates jobs opportunities, ecourages development of other relevant domains of businesses including media, manufacture, marketing and so forth.

Apart from benefits, the use of ads also causes drawbacks upon its targeted customers. The first problem is that people would feel negatively about their appearance. This stems from the facts that celebrities who are hired to act in advertised videos or pictures are often good-looking and beautiful which may make watchers feel shame on themselves. Furthermore, advertisements often motivate luxurious lifestyle to promote their products, which may have a negative impacts of the less well-off. Thus, Impoverished individuals who may not be advantageous enough to mantain such high living standards would feel shy and inconfident when it comes to establising new social relationships.

In sum, even though the values of advertisement are undeniable, it would have negative impacts on people, especially the less well-off. I believe law markers should impose certain restrictions on promotion that support an extravagant living.