Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of technology is becoming significantly increasing in recent years. Despite the advent of many translation applications for the time being, acquiring other languages remain valuable for people. I competely agree with this statement because there are many merits associated with studying new languages.

Knowing another language faciliates leaner's work and provides them with many opportunities in professional career. First, by having a good command of additional language, workers stand a higher chance of enhancing their productivity. This is particularly the case for those working with foreign coleagues. Given the language barrier is removed, people can communicate with each other easily the efficiency will therefore be enhanced. In addition, workers who can use another language would be often considered for jobs working in other countries, which is a great chance for them as these positions normally go hand in hand with salary increment, extra perks, allowances and promotion opportunity. By contrast, deployment of automated language translation softwares could result in dire consequences if there are technical glitches.

Other benefits of studying languages could be seen in people's private life. It is well-known that to establish a long lasting and meaningful relationships, face-to-face interaction is unavoidable. People have to see others' appearance, body language and hear their voices so that they can decide that people can put trust the others or not. With technological interference, such advantages maybe offset. More importantly, translating applications can not imitate cultural, societal and traditional factors in conversations. The lack of these components disables talkers to build rapport and causes misinformation and misunderstanding when people communicating. Finally, as learners study new languages, they absorb numerous values of a culture simultaneously, which make them more well-rounded individuals. Thus, Learning a language could benefit many ways to persons.

In sum, technology application for translating between languages appear quick and convenient, however learning a new language could supply people with many merits. I believe that the ability to use other languages is still significant in our lives.