Some people say that all young people should be required to stay in full time education until they are at least 18 years old To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that youngsters should be taught all day long in schools until the age of majority. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of major drawbacks when adolescents have full-time education. The first drawback is the lack of soft skills for the children. It seems not suitable for those under 18 who want to enquire about soft skills and seek a job instead of entering further education. We cannot deny that most high schools mostly focus on teaching main subjects such as maths, physics, or literature rather than soft skills like solving problems or working in a team. Meanwhile, employers prefer to recruit employees who have soft skills and experience. Another negative effect is that full-time teaching may put pressure on children. It is obvious that learning all day long in schools makes students overtired and cannot allocate their time for their habits.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, full-time education to the age of 18 is an opportunity to discover an evolving world. Having an education through high school and the university provides youngsters employable skills and wide knowledge. Secondly, education is not only knowledge but also behaviors. The young generations may not distinguish between right and wrong. In this situation, teachers can supervise their behaviors and teach them how to know right from wrong. Finally, part-time students are easily interrupted between study and work. Therefore, it can make them have bad performance in both school and workplace.

In conclusion, I would argue that full-time education until youngsters are at the age of 18 brings more benefits than its drawbacks.