Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the high school programs of the country, There are arguments for and against making arts subjects such as painting or drawing compulsory for students. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with the above statement because the arts have always played an essential role in the development journey of adolescents. I would like to elaborate on it in details with the below explanation-essay.

At the outset, it is thought by a handful of people that mandatory arts education is unnecessary and can take time away from more important subjects such as math, science, or language. They believe that students should have the freedom to choose the subjects that interest them the most and that mandatory arts education may not benefit everyone equally. Additionally, some critics argue that mandatory arts education may be can require expensive materials.

Besides, learning art-related courses are also beneficial for high school student’s brain development by boosting their creativity and observation capability. Art subjects provide learners with new prospects to observe the world around them, and encourage them to express their inner world with different colors and shapes. In this way, through the process of art learning, school learners’ left brain will be exercised and hence their creativity can also be improved. In addition, by learning to appreciate artworks and make copies of masterpieces, new beginners tend to pay more attention to details and consequently improve their ability in oberservation.

In brief, required classes can cultivate the right attitude towards our lives and even promote the combination of knowledge of different disciplines, thereby helping us to develop so I disagree that art classes should be optional.