Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While learning arts is a part of high school curriculum in a lot of countries, there is a viewpoint according to which teenagers do not need to spend their time on these subjects. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement, because I am of the view that arts play a vital role in the teenagers’ development for the reasons explained below.

Firstly, by learning how to draw and paint, high school students can nurture their aesthetic skills, which therefore can improve their critical emotion and thought. More specifically, learning arts assist pupils to develop holistically, and they give them the tool to improve their mental health. Without aesthetic skills, their life would be imbalance, and full of stress. Taking learning painting as an example, surveys have proved that painting helps students to relieve their stress, improve their self-esteem, and have more confidence in themselves.

Secondly, arts subjects enhance the students’ creative mindset, which is important in the future due to the fact that nobody can predict how things will change in the next years. Therefore, schools should treat arts just like literacy and numeracy. Unlike science subjects, arts can trigger the creative mindset of teenagers at a high level, and enlighten their professional paths, as students are not frightened that can be wrong in arts. As a result, students will have the capacity to come up with original ideas, and find solutions at problems from a diverse perspective. To illustrate this, although the majority of the most important poets in my country studied law in the university, followed an art career after that; Kavafis, Empirikos and others started as lawyers and end up with remarkable pieces of art.

In conclusion, in my opinion, schools should not underestimate the role of arts in the high school curriculum, since learning arts not only helps students to take care of their mental health, but also gives them alternatives in their professional future.