Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while other people think that mental strength is more important Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Nowadays, in regards to sports, it is widely argued whether being mentally tough is just as important, or even more important, as having physical attributes. In my opinion, an athlete today, especially regarding higher levels of competition, is required to concentrate more on his mental preparation for various reasons.

First and foremost, there are sports, such as golf or archery, that are not focused that much on the individual’s strength or stamina. In these situations, an athlete has to showcase a great amount of concentration and accuracy, in order to achieve his ultimate goal. Speaking from personal experience, I remember clearly when I used to play golf it was essential to clear my head from any thought and concentrate solely to two things; the wind’s directions and the direction of the ball. Any slight miscalculation could cause me the game.

In some other sports, however, strength, speed, and resilience seem to be more valuable than mental toughness. For track athletes or combat fighters it is essential to have better physical condition than their opponents have, to outmaneuver them and reach victory. Despite this observation, there are individuals, such as Usain Bolt or Jon Jones, who have admittedly sought advice from famous sports psychologists to boost up their mental strength. In Jon Jones own words “being mentally balanced enabled me to further concentrate on my training and my training, and to eventually become a better athlete”.

In conclusion, I believe that sportsmen today should pay more and more attention to their state of mind, and their mental strength, should they want to stay ahead of their competition.