Some people say that being a gifted student has too many potential disadvantages such as making students stressed therefore, gifted school should be abolished. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. Write a 250-word essay to justify your viewpoint.

There is an opinion that a gifted student has to face many possible negatives, one of which is stress. Therefore, they suggest that we should put an end to the gifted academy system. From my perspective, I strongly disapprove of this recommendation as I will explain below.

Firstly, stress is an inevitable factor in studies, especially in more advanced ones in gifted schools. However, it is not unpredictable. Almost every student who applies to these schools has been warned about the large sum of knowledge they have to acquire long before doing that. So, they must have had time to consider their choice before making their ruling. Moreover, they choose this subject and this educational place, which means that they have an interest in studying there and have the motivation to broaden their knowledge about that academic matter. As a result, they will attempt to overcome stress by their fondness for this subject and institution.

Secondly, children participating in gifted academies do not only learn about strange and advanced knowledge but also have the opportunities to contact with other talented students. Actually, socialization among people with similar educational pursuits may be easier as they understand what the other’s ideas are. It is also found that students with higher levels of education often have improved social skills in comparison to ones in general classrooms. Inasmuch as they know what to talk about with their mates, conversations can be more comfortable and they can strike up friendships more easily. Therefore, gifted schools should not be abolished at all.

To sum up, notwithstanding the amount of stress which may be confronted by learners, gifted academies should be maintained for the reasons described above. I also hope that governments will invest more in these schools in order to help talented students to develop their education and bring benefits to their nations in the future.